Election viewing and listening 

9 December 2019 tbs.pm/69813

Gary Rodger, author of Swing: A brief history of British General Election Night broadcasting tells us what to see and hear where on Thursday 12 December 2019 (and the day after).



BBC One, BBC News, BBC World

  • Election 2019 begins at 9.55pm on BBC-1 (England), the BBC News Channel and BBC World News. Huw Edwards chairs the main national programme for the first time, joined by Laura Kuenssberg, Andrew Neil, Katya Adler, Jeremy Vine and Professor Sir John Curtice. Correspondents including Kirsty Wark, Andrew Marr, Nick Robinson and Martha Kearney are at the key counts.


BBC One Scotland, BBC Scotland, BBC Parliament

  • On BBC-1 Scotland and UK-wide on BBC Parliament, Glenn Campbell presents live coverage from 9.55pm, with reports from every count across the country and the key moments throughout the rest of the UK. The programme will be simulcast on BBC Scotland from midnight.


BBC One Northern Ireland

  • Also from 9.55pm, Mark Carruthers and Tara Mills chair BBC Northern Ireland’s coverage with reporters at every count centre across the province.


BBC One Wales

  • In Wales, Bethan Rhys Roberts and Felicity Evans present through-the-night coverage from 9.55pm.



  • Welsh-language coverage airs on S4C in Etholiad 2019 from 9.55pm; Dewi Llwyd is joined by Vaughan Roderick and Betsan Powys.
  • Alawon darllediadau Cymraeg ar S4C yn Etholiad 2019 o 9.55pm; Mae Vaughan Roderick a Betsan Powys yn ymuno â Dewi Llwyd.


BBC Two - Nations

  • Viewers in Wales and Northern Ireland can watch network coverage with Huw Edwards on BBC-2 from 9.55pm and 10pm respectively, through until 6.30am.



  • Tom Bradby chairs Election 2019 on ITV and UTV at 9.55pm, with analysis from Professors Jane Green and Colin Rallings.



  • STV viewers will receive their own results programme, hosted by Bernard Ponsonby, from 9.55pm.


Sky News, Sky One

  • Dermot Murnaghan and Beth Rigby present The Brexit Election from 9pm, joined by former Commons Speaker John Bercow. Coverage also airs on Sky One from 11pm.


Sky, BuzzFeed

  • Sky is also staging The Election Social in conjunction with Buzzfeed; Lewis Goodall hosts coverage on Sky News’ digital platforms including Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Twitch.


Channel 4

  • From 9.55pm, Alternative Election Night offers a light-hearted take on polling day with hosts Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Katherine Ryan, Rylan Clark-Neal and Channel 4 News Political Editor Gary Gibbon. Guests include ex-Home Secretary Amber Rudd and former Labour Deputy Leader Tom Watson.


BBC Radio 4, BBC Radio 5 Live, BBC World Service

  • Radio 4’s Election 2019 begins at 9.45pm, presented by James Naughtie and Emma Barnett. The programme is simulcast on 5 Live from midnight; beforehand, the network offers reaction and analysis to the exit poll from 10pm. The BBC World Service will broadcast its own programme, UK Election 2019 from 10.06pm.



  • On LBC, Iain Dale and Shelagh Fogarty host Britain Decides from 10pm; also available as streaming video, the programme includes Martin Stanford in a new augmented reality studio.


BBC Radio Scotland, BBC Radio Radio nan Gàidheal

  • Gillian Marles and Bill Whiteford chair BBC Radio Scotland’s Election 2019 from 9.55pm, with Gaelic-language coverage – presented by Donald Morrison and James Macdonald – on Radio nan Gàidheal.
  • Bidh Gillian Marles agus Bill Whiteford na chathraiche air Election 2019 BBC Radio Scotland bho 9.55f, le craoladh Gàidhlig – air a thaisbeanadh le Donald Morrison agus James Macdonald – air Radio nan Gàidheal.


BBC Radio Ulster

  • From 10pm, Karen Patterson and William Crawley host Election 2019 Results on BBC Radio Ulster.


BBC Radio Wales, BBC Radio Cymru

  • BBC Radio Wales and Radio Cymru will carry audio from BBC-1 Wales and S4C respectively until 5am.
  • Bydd BBC Radio Wales a Radio Cymru yn cario sain o BBC-1 Wales a S4C yn y drefn honno tan 5am.




BBC One, BBC Two, BBC News, BBC World Service

  • Huw Edwards presents further election results, before Emily Maitlis at Westminster takes over from 9am until 1pm. Coverage then continues on BBC-2 and BBC Scotland from 2pm and on the BBC News Channel throughout the day.


BBC One Scotland, BBC Scotland

  • BBC-1 Scotland’s own coverage continues until 9am.


Good Morning Britain

  • Good Morning Britain airs on ITV, STV & UTV from 6am until 9.25am.



  • Julie Etchingham presents a special programme from 9.25am – 2pm, offering analysis of the results so far and a prediction of the likely shape of the Government.



  • Viewers in Northern Ireland will receive an hour-long UTV Election Special at 2pm and 5pm, presented by Paul Clark with analysis from UTV Political Editor Ken Reid.


Sky News, Sky One

  • Coverage continues with Kay Burley from 6am (simulcast on Sky One); Adam Boulton then hosts from 9am.


BBC Radio 5 Live

  • Radio 5 Live‘s election programming continues throughout the day; at 5am, Nicky Campbell and Rachel Burden host Breakfast before Your Call at 9am. Adrian Chiles takes over from 10am; Emma Barnett chairs proceedings at 1pm before Tony Livesey and Anna Foster with Drive at 4pm.



  • Nick Ferrari presents an extended edition of his LBC breakfast show from 6am – 10am.


BBC Parliament

  • BBC Parliament will simulcast BBC-1 from 7am, then broadcast the previous night’s programmes from BBC Wales and Northern Ireland at 1pm and 9.05pm respectively. On Saturday, a complete airing of Thursday and Friday’s output from BBC-1 will air from 9.55am.



  • On Friday evening, Fiona Bruce presents Question Time Election Special – The Result on BBC-1 at 8.30pm before Alexander Armstrong chairs Have I Got News For You at 9.30pm.


Television historian Gary Rodger is the author of Swing: A brief history of British General Election Night broadcasting.

Your comment

Enter it below

A member of the Transdiffusion Broadcasting System
Liverpool, Wednesday 10 April 2024